New ID5 Owner - Introduction & Charge Distance Guidance

New to the Volkswagen ID.5 Forums? Introduce yourself here
SteveC

Post by SteveC »

Hi all, am a complete newbie at all things EV - just taken delivery of ID.5 Pro (Style Trim) last month.

I really love the car but am struggling to get my head around charge level versus available miles and was hoping to get some advice and guidance here.

I know various factors affect the battery and performance so alot of this is to help set my expectations more than anything else. I am planning a long drive in the summer (600 mile round trip) so doing my homework at the moment

I decided to start from 100% charge for my measurements (although know 80% is the recommended norm) so I could see the max amount of miles in this climate

In this case 100% charge shows 296 miles (as I sat in the driveway)
4 mile round-trip to dentist and back today on A-roads (about 15 mins in traffic)
Back in the drive it shows 97% charge and 258 miles

As I switched the id.5 off I looked again at the miles and it had jumped back up to 282 miles. I know the battery is doing alot of work (such as if the air con is on or anything else for that matter)

This is where I have my dilemma though: for the short drives its not so much of a problem but how can you plan for stops along the way on a long journey based on expected miles travelled?

Anyone else experienced the same head-scratcher?

Thanks in advance,

Steve

Vander

Post by Vander »

Hi Steve

Firstly, congratulations on your new car!

Don’t get too hung up on the dreaded “Guess-o-Meter”. It seems to calculate the range based on your most recent driving, vehicle settings and temperatures of battery and ambient air, and these will naturally change from drive to drive. The accuracy of the GOM improves as the journey progresses.